The City of Monroe offers a wide range of services to its citizens. We are committed to providing our community with the best service possible to empower our citizens to enjoy the highest quality of life possible. City services are organized into departments by function.

The Finance Department manages daily operations of City Hall and general administrative services within the city government.

The Utility Department includes all elements of the former Water, Light, and Gas Commission; electric, water, gas, wastewater, stormwater, cable TV, VOIP phone service, and high speed internet.  They are a full service public utility.

The Public Works Department is split into two divisions:  Streets and Transportation, and Solid Waste.  They handle maintenance of all city assets, road and bridge construction and upkeep, as well as offering sanitation and recycling services to the community.

The Police Department is a full service, Georgia-certified law enforcement agency providing patrol, investigative, and specialized services.  Additionally, the Municipal Court is operated out of the Police Department, and provides adjudication of state and local ordinance violations for city law enforcement.

The Fire Department is an ISO 3 rated full time department providing fire and emergency medical services to our community.

The Code Department handles issues related to building code enforcement, business licensing, and related topics.  The City Marshal is a law enforcement officer attached to the Code Department handling code enforcement, local ordinances, business licensing, and city facilities security issues.

Please look to the links on the menu to the right for more information on each department.